Change is not Easy

Who knew that creating a change was going to be so complicated? The past four weeks I have been getting tips and advice on how to implement change. I have used a few holzfigur-980784_960_720different models to help me with this. Trying to get a group of teachers to accept and use something new isn’t easy. Dr. Dwayne Harapnuik has introduced me to a few helpful tools that will hopefully help my colleagues get on board with my goal of implementing e-portfolios. Anyone who is a teacher or has dealt with teachers know that most of us are very hard headed, strong willed people who think we are always doing what is best and see no reason for change. My job is to create a change amongst my colleagues. I want them to to create and learn how to use an e-portfolio so they can implement them in their classroom.

My Innovation Plan is to have all of my Art I students create an e-portfolio. In order for this to be successful I will need the support of my colleagues. As an educator I feel it is my obligation to make sure my students are getting the best education they possibly can in every class, not just mine. One way of doing this is helping my colleagues incorporate technology into their classroom. I need them to understand the importance and urgency to implement this digital tool in the classroom. In order for them to fully support this effort they will have to build and utilize an e-portfolio for themselves. I will urge them to eventually have their students use an e-portfolio to do assignments, share ideas/projects, and give their students feedback in which they will have access to at any point.

I have created a Why, How, and What statement that condenses my Innovation Plan down to a few sentences to share with my staff and students so they can easily understand what my goal is and see the urgency to make this happen.

Kotter (2013) says that urgency should be the foundation of any movement or change.

In order for people to accept and utilize my plan I have to make them understand the urgency of it. It needs to begin now. We do not need talk, we need action. I want to speak to the hearts of my students and co-workers, not just the minds (Kotter, 2011). If I do not implement this change now, it may never be done and my students will be missing a great opportunity to advance in their art future.

WHY: I believe my students are great at creating artwork and deserve to have a platform to dispaly their artwork digitally for the world to view immediatley. 

HOW: I will have students create personalized e-Portfolios that will include an artist statement, a blog, and a gallery to display their artwork.                

WHAT: Students will create an e-Portfolio to share their work, ideas, and beliefs that they can add to at anytime and share with others for college acceptance or job placement.    

Technology is here, our students include technology in every aspect of their lives. We internet-1181586_960_720have to do the same or we will not be giving our students the opportunities they deserve to succeed. Some of my staff members will see the importance of the e-portfolios. They will understand that this digital tool is an integral and valuable part of the learning process and regularly integrate technology in their lesson planning. Unfortunately some will not see this as important and think it is just more work for them.

I used the Influencer Model found in Joseph Grenny’s book Influencer: The New Science of Leading Change to create a personalized plan to help derive my desired results, create vital behaviors, describe ways to implement e-portfolios, and point out possible challenges.

Anytime we are asked to create something or integrate something new into our teaching process we are hesitant because we often see it as more work in our already hectic schedule. Our day to day duties, or the whirlwind,  are already more than most of us can handle without adding something new in. It is my goal to show my colleagues how they can create an e-portfolio and eventually integrate them into their classroom while pushing through the whirlwind.

I created a plan using The 4 Disciplines of Execution paired with the 5 stages of change set forth by McChesney, Covey, and Huling (2012) to assist me and my colleagues in achieving a Wildly Important Goal (WIG).

          75% of the teachers in my high school will create and utilize an e-portfolio by September 30,  2018 in order to understand the importance of this digital tool and the urgency to implement e-ports in the classroom.

Change is hard, creating change is even harder, and accepting change is the hardest. burnout-384086_960_720.jpgWe do not like to accept change if we feel like what we are doing is working. There is going to be a lot of opposition when implementing my plan. There will be many crucial conversations that will take place. Learning how to talk to people is very important and must be taken into consideration when creating a change. I think opposing change and seeking information is human nature. Many of us follow the motto “If it isn’t broke don’t fix it.” That is the attitude of most of my colleagues. This attitude does not allow us to advance, our education system needs positive change. It is broke, we are not teaching to our students in a way that they desire or learn to their fullest potential. They are bored with lecture, our students need hands-on learning experiences where they can personalize their education.

References:

All images courtesy of pixabay.com

Callibrain (2015, August 20). Video Review for Crucial Conversations by Kerry Patterson. [YouTubeVideo]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFaXx3pgaxM&feature=youtu.be

Grenny, J., Patterson, K., Maxfield, D., McMillan, R., & Switzler, A. (2013). Influencer: The new science of leading change: 2nd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill Education.

Kotter, J. (2011, March 23). John Kotter – The Heart of Change. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1NKti9MyAAw&feature=youtu.be

McChesney, C., Covey, S., & Huling, J. (2012). The 4 disciplines of execution: Achieving your wildly important goals. New York, NY: Free Press.

Patterson, K., Grenny, J., McMillan, R., & Switzler, A. (2012). Crucial Conversations: Tools for Talking When Stakes are High. Columbus, OH: McGraw Hill.

Leave a Reply

